Meet the band

Find out who's currently playing in the band, and scroll to the bottom to meet our bandsman of the year.

Conductor (Gareth Davies) Matt Martin (Principal Cornet) Emily Harper (Solo Cornet) David Barr (Solo Cornet) Samson Wang (Solo Cornet)
Lowell Pinn (Sporano Cornet) Louise Wright (Repiano Cornet) Ed Cross (Second Cornet) Daniel Mullan (Second Cornet) Ed Mills (Third Cornet)
Karen Mcanally (Third Cornet) Stephen Thomson (Flugel Horn) Steve Hardiman (Solo Horn) Alice Johnson (Second Horn) Roger Carter (Euphonium)
Catherine Barnet (Euphonium) David Huxham (First Barritone) Richard Samphier (Second Barritone) Louise Pike (Second Barritone) Graham Sharland (Trombone)
A. Lynch (Trombone) Richard Williams (Bass Trombone) Paul Gilbert (Eb Bass) Mark Clarvis (Eb Bass) Keith Allen (Bb Bass)
Graham Creasy (Bb Bass)

About our conductor: Gareth's passion for music started at a very early age, joining his local brass band, Pillowell Silver Band, at the age of 4. After many years of playing almost every instrument with the band, he eventually turned his hand to percussion. It wasn’t until many years later, along with some encouragement from Kristyann Symonds, that Gareth picked up the baton for the first time with the Forest of Dean Area Windband.

Gareth’s conducting was very heavily influenced by playing under Rhodri Griffiths at Pillowell Silver Band and Phillip Harper at Flowers, after being invited along to some rehearsals by percussion tutors Steve Barnett and Steve Jones. More recently, Gareth has been further motivated and inspired by Chris Spreadbury whilst playing under his musical direction at South West Comms Band. Whilst there have been many influences over the years, these are most notably the musicians whose style and techniques have made a lasting impression, making Gareth the conductor he is today.

Gareth is honoured to be the Musical Director at Exeter Railway Band and is looking forward to working with the band to further develop their skills and technical ability within an enjoyable atmosphere, and hearing the results of hard work.

Our Bandsman of the Year for 2018 is Emily Harper.
Previous winners:
Lowell Pinn, 2017
Keith Allen, 2016


07752 159398


Exeter Central Station